• Advertisement

870 28-Gauge or....

Moderators: Scorpion8, ripjack13, John A., MikeD

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:55 am
Am thinking about a 28-gauge shotgun to tote around during what passes as bird season up here. Not ducks mind you, but ptarmigan and grouse. I'm torn between a cheap 28-Ga over-under, or an 870 in 28-Ga. I have 2 870's so I have a lot of experience with those, but an o/u breaks down into a smaller package for back-packing than a pump.

Anybody have an 870 in 28-Ga that has any experience to relate? Or perhaps even .410?
NRA Life, NAHC Life, Retired USN
Pain heals, chicks dig scars .... glory, lasts forever!
Administrator
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:30 pm
I've never even laid hands on a 28 gauge that I can remember.

I learned how to hunt using a 410. It's just as capable as any other shotgun, but your effective range is greatly reduced. Even more than 20 gauge.

Less powder and less shot charge. Even the 3 inch shells.

Don't be fooled into thinking they're terrible choices though, as long as you know their limitations. We've taken some pretty big turkeys with 410 gauge. It's not like they're wearing suits of armor.

But I do know a few folks who consider the 410 gauge as more of an "expert" gun.

I am biased that I feel the 16 gauge is probably the best bird gun that was ever made. I can say that I have taken more game with my 16 gauge than probably everything else in my safe combined.

But you'll mostly be restricted to handloading them. I see a few boxes pop up at our local walmart every fall, but they're not produced in anywhere near the same quantities as the other shell sizes.

There are a pretty good sized group of guys who really like their 16's. They carry well, swing well. Just overall good shooting guns most of them.

Sorry for the threadjack. I know you didn't even mention the 16, but I couldn't resist singing the praises for mine. I love hunting with them.